The Football Writers Association of America's 70th All-America Team is dominated by the Southeastern and Atlantic Coast conferences, which placed half of the 26 players on the first team, deemed the best in college football. Fittingly, those two conferences have the teams – Florida State and Auburn – in the VIZIO BCS National Championship Game Jan. 6, 2014, in Pasadena, Calif.

For the second straight season, the official announcement of the FWAA All-America Team, the second-longest continuously-published team in major college football, came exclusively on SiriusXM Radio's "College Football Nation."

Top-ranked Florida State led the ACC with three players on the team, most notably freshman quarterback Jameis Winston, the 2013 Heisman Trophy winner. For the first time since 1949, the FWAA has selected a second team and, while SEC champion Auburn didn't place a player on the first team, it did have two second-teamers. And, Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn was named the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year this past Monday in recognition of the Tigers' brilliant turnaround season.

Alabama of the SEC also placed three players on the first team, while Stanford of the Pac-12 and the SEC's Texas A&M had two each. The first-team conference breakdown went like this: SEC (7), ACC (6), Big 12 (4), Pac-12 (4), American Athletic (2) Big Ten (2), and Mid-American (1). Of the 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences, seven are represented on the first team.

For the second straight season, the FWAA had a freshman as its first-team quarterback following Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel last season. There was only one first-team repeater from 2012, Texas A&M offensive tackle Jake Matthews. Included on the 2013 team is the Outland Trophy and Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner Aaron Donald. The Pittsburgh defensive tackle is only the fourth player to sweep both of the FWAA's two major player awards.


QB Jameis Winston, Florida State (6-4, 228, Fr., Bessemer, Ala.)
RB Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona (5-10, 207, Jr., Tucson, Ariz.)
RB Andre Williams, Boston College (6-0, 227, Sr., Schnecksville, Pa.)
WR Brandin Cooks, Oregon State (5-10, 186, Jr., Stockton, Calif.)
WR Mike Evans, Texas A&M (6-5, 225, So., Galveston, Texas)
TE Jace Amaro, Texas Tech (6-5, 260, Jr., San Antonio, Texas)
OL Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama (6-6, 310, Jr., Hyattsville, Md.)
OL Jake Matthews, Texas A&M (6-5, 305, Sr., Missouri City, Texas)
OL Cyril Richardson, Baylor (6-5, 340, Sr., Fort Worth, Texas)
OL David Yankey, Stanford (6-5, 313, Sr., Roswell, Ga.)
C Bryan Stork, Florida State (6-4, 300, Sr., Vero Beach, Fla.)

DL Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh (6-0, 285, Sr., Pittsburgh, Pa.)
DL Trent Murphy, Stanford (6-6, 261, Sr., Mesa, Ariz.)
DL Michael Sam, Missouri (6-2, 255, Sr., Hitchcock, Texas)
DL Marcus Smith, Louisville (6-3, 252, Sr., Columbus, Ga,)
LB Chris Borland, Wisconsin (5-11, 246, Sr., Kettering, Ohio)
LB Khalil Mack, Buffalo (6-3, 248, Sr., Fort Pierce, Fla.)
LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama (6-2, 238, Sr., Mobile, Ala.)
DB Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama (6-1, 208, Jr., Orlando, Fla.)
DB Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State (5-11, 197, Sr., Dry Branch, Ga.)
DB Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State (6-0, 200, Sr., Huntsville, Texas)
DB Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State (5-8, 190, Sr., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)

K Anthony Fera, Texas (6-2, 208, Sr., Cypress, Texas)
P Tom Hornsey, Memphis (6-3, 210, Sr., Geelong, Australia)
KR Odell Beckham Jr., LSU (6-0, 193, Jr., New Orleans, La.)
PR Ryan Switzer, North Carolina (5-10, 175, Fr., Charleston, W. Va.)

Offense: QB AJ McCarron, Alabama;RB Tre Mason, Auburn; RB Bishop Sankey, Washington; WR Tyler Lockett, Kansas State; WR Allen Robinson, Penn State; TE Eric Ebron, North Carolina; OL Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State; OL Jack Mewhort, Ohio State; OL Greg Robinson, Auburn; OL Brandon Scherff, Iowa; C Hroniss Grasu, Oregon. Defense: DL Vic Beasley, Clemson; DL Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas; DL Timmy Jernigan, Florida State; DL Ryan Mueller, Kansas State; LB Anthony Barr, UCLA; LB Ryan Shazier, Ohio State; LB Shayne Skov, Stanford; DB Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon; DB E.J. Gaines, Missouri; DB Ed Reynolds, Stanford; DB Jason Verrett, TCU. Specialists: K Nate Freese, Boston College; P Richie Leone, Houston; KR Ty Montgomery, Stanford; PR Jamison Crowder, Duke.

More From Tide 100.9