Alabama freshman quarterback Jalen Hurts was selected as one of 18 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee announced on Thursday afternoon.

Hurts has excelled for the Crimson Tide, playing in all nine games this season and starting the last eight consecutive matchups. A dual-threat quarterback, Hurts has contributed 2,320 yards of total offense, including 1,685 through the air and 635 rushing. He has gone 139-of-223 (62.3 percent) with 12 touchdowns compared to six interceptions throwing, and has accumulated 635 yards on 115 attempts to average 5.5 yards per carry with a team-high 10 scores on the ground. Hurts currently ranks second in Alabama single-season history for rushing yards by a quarterback and is just 156 yards shy of matching the all-time leader, Steadman Shealy (1979), at 791 yards.

The first-year signal caller sports a 138.2 pass efficiency rating that ranks third overall in the conference. His 2,320 yards of total offense leads all conference freshmen at any position and ranks fifth overall in the league. Hurts has also accounted for 6.7 scores per game and 60 total points to lead all freshmen and tie for eighth in the SEC.

With his start against Western Kentucky, the Channelview, Texas, native became the first Tide true freshman to start at quarterback since Vince Sutton in 1984. In that same game, he set the Alabama freshman record for passing yards in a game with 287. Hurts has twice earned Davey O’Brien “Great 8” weekly honors for his performances against USC on Sept. 3 and on Sept. 17at then-No. 20 Ole Miss.

The collection of semifinalists is comprised of five seniors, nine juniors, two sophomores and two freshmen. Schools from seven conference affiliations make up the list, while the Southeastern Conference was one of five with multiple honorees. Hurts joins Ole Miss’ Chad Kelly and Trevor Knight of Texas A&M as SEC representatives on the list.

The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the foundation’s national selection committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners.

After clearing the first round totals, the fan vote at will reopen today (Nov. 10) and remain open until noon CT on Sunday, Nov. 20, for the second round of balloting. Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback once daily per e-mail address.

In conjunction with ESPN, the Dave O’Brien Foundation and the selection committee will release the names of the three finalists on Tuesday, Nov. 22. The 2016 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards in Atlanta, Ga., on Thursday, Dec. 8.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the best college quarterback, and is the nation’s oldest and one of the most prestigious national quarterback awards.

More From Tide 100.9