The University of Alabama men's basketball team was honored at its annual awards banquet on Thursday evening at Coleman Coliseum. More than 500 fans packed the venue’s floor as the Crimson Tide student-athletes, staff and managers were recognized for their efforts on and off the court during the 2015-16 season.

The Crimson Tide finished the 2015-16 campaign with an 18-15 overall record and made its fifth postseason appearance in the last seven years. Alabama’s 18 wins in head coach Avery Johnson’s first season tied the record for the most wins by an Alabama first-year head coach (Wimp Sanderson, 1980-81).

Alabama knocked off four AP Top 25 teams over the year which led the SEC. It was the first time since 2001-02 that an Alabama team recorded four AP Top 25 victories in the regular season. The Tide also snapped an 11-game losing streak to Florida with its defeat of the Gators on the road. It was the first time Alabama won in Gainesville since Feb. 25, 1995.

The team was joined by members of the Tuscaloosa Tip-Off Club and Tide Pride. Following dinner, Crimson Tide Sports Network color commentator Bryan Passink, who served as master of ceremonies on the evening, introduced UA Director of Athletics Bill Battle who addressed the crowd to thank them for their support.

The fan support was tremendous throughout the year, as Alabama averaged a school record 13,110 fans per game – a number that ranked 22nd-best in the nation. The Tide also sold out five games on the season, which was the most sellouts in a single year since the 2006-07 season.

Johnson then presented individual awards to members of the 2015-16 squad.

Seniors Retin Obasohan and Arthur Edwards highlighted the list of awards. Obasohan, who led the team with 17.6 points per game and was the first Alabama player to average more than 20 points per game in SEC play since Buck Johnson in 1985-86, was named the team’s outstanding offensive player. Edwards took home the most improved player award. Before the graduate transfer arrived at the Capstone he had averaged just 2.7 points per game in two seasons at New Mexico, but this year contributed 9.5 points per game and led the team with 171 three-pointers.

Obasohan and Edwards each received Commitment to Service awards as well. Edwards was named to the Southeastern Conference’s Community Service team this year, and Obasohan received the honor last season.

Donta Hall won the Outstanding Freshman Award while Riley Norris was named the Outstanding Defensive Player. Lawson Schaffer was given the Coach Avery Award, given in recognition of attitude and effort throughout the course of the season. Michael Kessens, along with Obasohan and Edwards, also received special recognition as the team’s departing seniors.

Christian Clark, Jimmie Taylor and Obasohan took home a Student Academic Achievement Award after the trio each earned a spot on the Southeastern Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll.