Monday could be a historic day for the Southeastern Conference. With two teams one win away, the SEC could potentially set a new record by sending five teams to the College World Series. 

Florida and LSU swept their opponents to advance while Arkansas pulled out a one-run victory over Missouri State on Sunday to claim a spot in Omaha. Having three teams in the CWS has only happened 12 other times so that's a huge accomplishment in itself, but the SEC could elevate above the rest of college baseball on Monday.

Vanderbilt has the opportunity to become the fourth team in when its game against Illinois begins at 3 PM/CT. The defending national champions won the first game 13-0 which bodes well for its chances to advance. Should Illinois win, the two teams would play one final game to decide it.

The last game of the night features a Lone Star State slugfest. After TCU won the first game 13-4, Texas A&M came back on Sunday to pull out a 2-1 win. Game three will air in primetime on ESPN.

The current CWS record is four teams from the same conference. The SEC accomplished that in 1997 (Alabama, Auburn, LSU, Mississippi State) and 2004 (Arkansas, Georgia, LSU, South Carolina), while the ACC achieved that mark in 2006 (Clemson, Georgia Tech, Miami, North Carolina).

If the conference can pull it off on Monday, it would add to a dominant era of college baseball for the SEC that already includes appearances in seven straight national championship series and winning four.

More From Tide 100.9