Alabama running back Damien Harris and defensive lineman Raekwon Davis have been named to the 2018 Walter Camp Award Watch List, announced by the Walter Camp Foundation this morning.

Harris and Davis are among 50 players from around the country named to the preseason list. Running back Derrick Henry became the first Alabama player to win the award when he took home the hardware in 2015 following his record-setting season that was dcapped off with a national championship victory.

The Tide’s top running back in each of the last two seasons, Harris has recorded back-to-back 1,000-yard rushing campaigns and ranks No. 16 all-time at UA with 2,194 career yards. The Richmond, Ky., native has averaged 7.2 yards per carry in his last 281 rushing attempts, dating to the start of the 2016 season. This is the third preseason list for Harris this summer. He was previously named to the watch lists for the Maxwell and Doak Walker Awards.

Davis established himself as one of the top defensive line prospects in the Southeastern Conference as a sophomore. The Meridian, Miss., native finished the 2017 season with a team-leading 8.5 sacks, along with 45 tackles, 10 tackles for loss, a fumble return and his first career interception. Davis also appeared on the watch lists for the Chuck Bednarik Award and Nagurski Trophy earlier this month.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year Award has been presented annually since 1967 by the Walter Camp Foundation to recognize the nation’s most outstanding player in college football. The award is named in honor of Walter Camp, “The Founder of American Football,” who is credited with numerous innovations in the game. The winner will be announced prior to the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December and is recognized during the on-air segment later in the evening.

More From Tide 100.9