Beating Alabama could win you more than championships in the eyes of the viewership. The Clemson Tigers 35-31 victory over the Alabama Crimson Tide will be recognized at this year's ESPYS for Best Upset in all of sports.

Sports version of the Academy Awards or Grammy's, the ESPYS is recognizing one of the best games in college football in recent memory as an upset rather than one of the best overall games of the year.

Other nominees include, Mississippi State defeating Connecticut in the Women's NCAA Basketball Final Four and Denis Istomin defeating Novak Djokovic in the second round of the Australian Open.

The Best Game nominees are New England Patriots versus Atlanta Falcons in the Super Bowl, Chicago Cubs versus Cleveland Indians in Game 7 of the World Series, and Roger Federer vs Rafael Nadal in the Australian Open Finals.

Clemson is also nominated for Best Team, other championship teams from every sport is also nominated. Clemson quarterback DeShaun Watson is also nominated for Best Male College Athlete and Best Championship Performance for his game against Alabama. Watson threw for 420 passing yards with four touchdowns, one rushing touchdown.

This is the second time Alabama has been on the losing end of the Best Upset category. The Ole Miss Rebels won the ESPY in 2015 after defeating the Crimson Tide 23-17.

Other winners of the Best Upset award include the New York Giants defeating the New England Patriots in Super XLII, the Mercer Bears defeating the Duke Blue Devils in the second round of the 2014 NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament, and Holly Holm's knockout victory over the undefeated Ronda Rousey at UFC 193.

Where Clemson and Alabama rank among the biggest upset in sports will be a debateable discussion despite both teams being evenly matched going into the game. But as dominate as the Crimson Tide was going into the College Football Playoffs, it's safe to say critics had them winning with ease in Tampa.

The ESPY will be held in Los Angeles on July 12 and hosted by former NFL quarterback and two-time Super Bowl champion Peyton Manning. The award ceremony will be aired on ABC.

More From Tide 100.9