SEC Network Takeover (#SECNTakeover) begins Monday, June 29, with the Alabama Crimson Tide taking over the national television network for 24 hours. With the help of Heisman Trophy winner Mark Ingram, Alabama selected 12 marquee television games from the vault to relive with fans. The school also produced a one-hour special, Built by Bama, that will air at 9 a.m. and again at 7 p.m. ET.

The Built by Bama hour of original content will feature a 2014-15 year-in-review, an in-depth feature on new men’s basketball coach Avery Johnson, a discussion with Director of Athletics Bill Battle, as well as interviews with the Crimson Tide’s individual national champions.


Alabama’s #SECNTakeover schedule also includes:

  • 2009 SEC Football Championship Game (December 5, 2009) –  Football - No. 1 Florida vs. No. 2 Alabama marked the first time any conference championship game featured two undefeated teams. Mark Ingram led the Tide to a 32-13 win over the Gators with 189 total yards and three touchdowns.
  • 2014 Alabama vs. Georgia (April 26, 2014) – Softball game – On a perfect day in Tuscaloosa with 3,696 fans looking on, Alabama defeated Georgia 4-1 to earn a series victory in the rubber match. Jaclyn Traina earned her 19th win of the season and 99th of her career with a complete game and nine strikeouts.
  • 2014 Alabama vs. Nebraska (December 7, 2014) – Women’s Basketball – Head coach Kristy Curry and the Alabama women’s basketball team pulled out a 53-51 victory over No. 12 Nebraska on a last second shot from Nikki Hegstetter. The Crimson Tide outrebound Nebraska 46-36 and held the Huskers to a season-low 51 points.
  • 2015 Alabama vs. Auburn (May 10, 2015) – Baseball – The Crimson Tide used an eight-run ninth inning to ensure a series sweep of Auburn for the first time in 32 years. Alabama had 16 hits in the game and finished the series with 42.
  • 1993 Alabama vs. Miami  (January 1, 1993) – Football – Head coach Gene Stallings led Alabama to the 1992 national championship thanks to a dominating defensive performance in the Sugar Bowl against Heisman Trophy winner Gino Torretta and the top-ranked Hurricanes. The Tide won by a score of 34-13 and finished the season 13-0 to win the program’s 12th national title.
  • 2015 SEC Gymnastics Championship (March 21, 2015) – after winning its final SEC gymnastics title under the legendary Sarah Patterson in 2014, the Crimson Tide protected its championship legacy in 2015 as first-year head coach Dana Duckworth led Alabama to the SEC title to become the first to win an SEC title in their inaugural season as head coach.
  • 2012 SEC Football Championship Game (December 2, 2012) – No. 2 Alabama topped No. 3 Georgia in a thrilling 32-28 victory to claim the 2012 SEC title. Eddie Lacy was the Most Outstanding Player with 181 yards and two touchdowns on 20 carries while the game-winning score came on a 45-yard pass from AJ McCarron to Amari Cooper.
  • 2012 SEC Softball Champ Game (May 12, 2012) – The top-seeded Alabama softball won the 2012 SEC Tournament in front of the home crowd at Rhoads Stadium with a 10-1 victory over Florida. The Crimson Tide would advance through NCAA play and later claim the first national title in program history.
  • 2012 BCS National Championship (January 9, 2012) – In the first shutout in BCS Series history, Alabama defeated LSU 21-0 to earn the school’s 14th national championship. The Crimson Tide led the nation in four major defensive categories in 2011, the first team to do so since Oklahoma in 1986.
  • 1979 Sugar Bowl (January 1, 1979) – Paul “Bear” Bryant’s 1978 Crimson Tide squad won the national championship on one of the most legendary plays in Alabama history. On fourth down and inches from the goal line, Joe Paterno and Penn State were stopped by a host of defenders to lock up the 14-7 Sugar Bowl victory and UA’s 10th national title.
  • 2010 BCS National Championship (January 2, 2010) – Nick Saban’s 2009 team captured the 13th national championship with a 14-0 overall record and a 37-21 victory over Texas in the Rose Bowl. That Crimson Tide team produced a remarkable six first team AP All-Americans, including Butkus winner Rolando McClain and the UA’s first Heisman Trophy winner Mark Ingram.
  • 2013 BCS National Championship (January 7, 2013) – National Championship number 15 and the third in four years was secured with a dominating 42-14 victory over Notre Dame in the Orange Bowl. Eddie Lacy got it done on the ground with 140 yards while Amari Cooper highlighted the aerial attack with 105 yards receiving and two scores.


Time (ET)Programming
Midnight2009 SEC Football Championship Game
2 a.m.2014 Alabama vs. Georgia (Softball)
3:30 a.m.2014 Alabama vs. Nebraska (Women’s Basketball)
5 a.m.2015 Alabama vs. Auburn (Baseball)
7 a.m.1993 Alabama vs. Miami (Football)
9 a.m.Built by Bama
10 a.m.2015 SEC Gymnastics Championship
11:30 a.m.2012 SEC Football Championship Game
1:30 p.m.2012 SEC Softball Championship Game
3 p.m.2012 BCS National Championship
5 p.m.1979 Sugar Bowl
7 p.m.Built by Bama
8 p.m.2010 BCS National Championship
10 p.m.2013 BCS National Championship

(schedule subject to change)