New Alabama football coach Kalen DeBoer has been named winner of the 2024 Stallings Award, named for former Alabama coach Gene Stallings.

Tide 100.9 logo
Get our free mobile app

The award is presented to coach of the year based on their on-field success, charitable contributions & community service. It is presented by Lincoln Property Company of Dallas, TX.

DeBoer led the Washingtong Huskie's to a national runner up finish but lost to Michigan in the CFP title tilt.

Stallings won 70 games in seven years leading Alabama including the 1992 national championship, which his Tide clinched with a dominating win in the Sugar Bowl in New Orleans over Miami.

According to the Stallings Award web site: "When Coach Stallings returned to The University of Alabama as head coach, The Stallings family immediately became strong advocates for the Rise Program – a program initiated on the Tuscaloosa campus in 1974 designed to serve young children with physical disabilities.

"In large part due to the notoriety of the Alabama football team’s 1992 national championship and involvement of coach Stallings, the university’s capital campaign, which included a new facility for the Rise Program, met its fundraising goals. The Rise Program was able to expand and become the state-of-the-art, accredited program that serves as a model for the development of similar programs across the country, including the Rise School of Dallas.

"Proceeds are donated to The Ashford Rise School of Dallas. The mission of the Rise School is to provide the highest quality education and therapy services to preschool children with and without developmental disabilities."

Fans Answer Humphrey: “Time for One Dinner in Tuscaloosa, Where You Going?”

Gallery Credit: Mary K



More From Tide 100.9