University of Alabama athletic director Greg Byrne has been appointed to the NCAA DI Men's Basketball Committee. He is one of five new appointees to the committee and will be replacing current chair of the committee, Kentucky athletic director Mitch Barnhart as the representative from the SEC.

Byrne will serve a five year term on the committee as is the tradition. He is joined by Minnesota athletic director Mark Coyle, UCLA athletic director Martin Jarmond, Sun Belt Conference commissioner Keith Gill and Butler athletic director Barry Collier.

“We are eternally grateful for the dedication and service given to this committee by Mitch, Craig and Mike, who are all highly respected leaders within the collegiate athletics community,” said Dan Gavitt, the NCAA’s senior vice president of basketball. “As the Division I basketball championships have continued growing, the workload and time commitment of basketball committee members in managing the event, as well as selecting, seeding and bracketing the field, has evolved, which led to the appropriate expansion to 12 members. We are excited to have Barry, Greg, Keith, Mark and Martin join the committee as they bring a wealth of experience and leadership to the group.”

Tide 100.9 logo
Get our free mobile app

The committee's primary role is selecting and seeding the field for the NCAA Tournament. Members are expected to know its conference's basketball teams and have a working knowledge of the remaining landscape of DI basketball.

It is made up of five representatives from each of the Power Five conferences, three representatives from seven highest-ranked nonautonomy conferences based on basketball success and the remaining four members from the remaining conferences.

See Striking Photos of the Tourism Industry During COVID-19



More From Tide 100.9