Alabama football’s Minkah Fitzpatrick is one of seven finalists for the 2017 Lombardi Award, the Lombardi Foundation announced on Monday afternoon.

The Lombardi Award is presented annually to a Division I player – regardless of position – based on performance, leadership, character and resiliency. Alabama has had two winners of the award in its history, most recently Jonathan Allen a season ago and before that Cornelius Bennett in 1986.

Fitzpatrick, the winner of the Jim Thorpe and Chuck Bednarik awards in 2017, wrapped up his Crimson Tide career as one of the most distinguished defensive backs in program history. The Alabama leader in career interception returns for touchdowns, he tallied four across his three seasons including a school-record two in the 2015 matchup at Texas A&M. This season, Fitzpatrick finished with 60 tackles, eight of which went for loss (-31 yards), while contributing 1.5 sacks (-15 yards), eight pass breakups, three quarterback hurries, one interception, a forced fumble and a blocked kick.

Joining Fitzpatrick on the finalist list are running back Saquon Barkley of Penn State, linebacker Shaquem Griffin of UCF, quarterback Lamar Jackson of Louisville, linebacker/quarterback Joel Lanning of Iowa State, running back Bryce Love of Stanford and quarterback Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma.

The Lombardi Award winner will be announced on Saturday, Jan. 27 at the Lombardi Honors presentation at Lone Star College in Houston, Texas.

More From Tide 100.9