Alabama football's 'M&M's were named to national award watch lists Tuesday. That's a treat, not a trick.

Tide 100.9 logo
Get our free mobile app

Tjde starting quarterback Jalen Milroe was named to the Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2023, and cornerback Kool-Aid McKinstry was named a semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe Award.

McKinstry is one of 15 semifinalists for the Thorpe, which is awarded each year to the nation’s top defensive back. Three finalists for the award will be named live on ESPN on Nov. 28 with the 2023 winner of the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 8.


Alabama’s has had two Thorpe winners in its history, one under Gene Stallings the other more recent. First was Antonio Langham in 1993 and most recently Minkah Fitzpatrick captured the honor  in 2017. Fitzpatrick is currently with the NFL's Pittsburgh Steelers.

Meanwhile, Milroe is one of 35 signal-callers on the O’Brien’s initial list and is officially in the running for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. Semifinalists for the O’Brien will be announced on Nov. 14 with the group of finalists being released on Nov. 28. The 2023 winner of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 8.


 The Alabama program under Nick Saban's watch has had two Davey O’Brien Award winners in program history, first with Mac Jones in 2020. He was followed the very next year by Bryce Young. Jones is now a New England Patriot and Young is a Carolina Panther who got his first win as a pro starter Sunday.

The 10 Greatest College Football Rivalries

PHOTOS: Alabama Celebrates #18



More From Tide 100.9