Alabama junior defensive back Minkah Fitzpatrick has been named to the 2017 Wuerffel Trophy Watch List announced today by the All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach (Fla.).

Fitzpatrick is among 109 candidates from around the country named to the preseason list. Barrett Jones is Alabama’s only Wuerffel honoree. Jones was the 2011 recipient.

Fitzpatrick has been a team leader in the community and on campus. He has given his time to several groups in his two years with the football program, including the YMCA, TAP, Inc. and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, mentoring at-risk youth in the Tuscaloosa area. Most recently, he spent his spring break with a group of Alabama student-athletes as part of an FCA mission trip that did relief work in San Jose, Costa Rica. On the field, Fitzpatrick is the leader of the Crimson Tide secondary after a pair of standout seasons in his first two years in Tuscaloosa. He has returned four interceptions for touchdowns during his career to set the Alabama all-time mark for pick-sixes.

The Wuerffel Trophy is presented annually by the All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach Fla.  Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement. This year’s winner will be recognized at the All Sports Association Awards Banquet on Feb. 16, 2018, in Fort Walton Beach.