Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa has been named one of three finalists for the Heisman Trophy, the Heisman Trust announced Monday.

Tagovailoa has thrown for 3,353 yards and a school-record 37 touchdowns with just four interceptions on 199-of-294 passing (67.7 percent) this season. The sophomore is tied for second on the UA career touchdown pass list with 48 and has thrown for 300 or more yards an Alabama-record five times this season. His 42 combined passing and rushing touchdowns are also a UA season record.

Running backs Mark Ingram (2009) and Derrick Henry (2015) were Alabama’s first two Heisman winners. Tagovailoa joins Ingram, Henry, Amari Cooper (2014), AJ McCarron (2013) and Trent Richardson (2011) as the sixth player to be named a finalist for the award under head coach Nick Saban.

Tagovailoa is joined as a finalist by fellow quarterbacks Dwayne Haskins of Ohio State and Kyler Murray of Oklahoma.

The winner of the 2018 Heisman Trophy will be announced live on ESPN at 7p.m. CT on Saturday, Dec. 8 from the PlayStation Theater in New York.

The selection is the fifth national finalist honor for Tagovailoa. He was previously announced as a finalist for the Davey O’Brien, Manning, Maxwell and Walter Camp Player of the Year awards.

More From Tide 100.9