The College Football Playoff finalized its new members for the 2021-2022 college football season, and once again the SEC is represented. 

Kentucky athletic director Mitch Barnhart joins NC State athletic director Boo Corrigan, Texas athletic director Chris Del Conte, former Nebraska All-American linebacker Will Shields, and CFB hall-of-fame member Joe Taylor. Barnhart is the longest acting athletic director in the SEC, and also serves as the chair for SEC athletic directors. 

Committee members operate under a three-year contract. The new members listed above replace Oklahoma athletic director Joe Castiglione, former USC all-american Ronnie Lott, Georgia Tech athletic director Todd Stansbury, Florida athletic director. Iowa athletic Director Gary Barta was also given an extension on his title as committee chair. 

"Mitch, Boo, Chris, Will and Joe will continue the integrity that has been the committee's hallmark through our seven seasons," CFP executive director Bill Hancock said in a press release. 

"Their knowledge, experience and character, along with their love of the sport of college football, will make the transition seamless."

The college football playoff is entering its eighth year of existence, and the system of voting by committee on the four best teams hasn’t come without its criticisms. Most recently, the committee was scrutinized by the college football community for leaving out an one-loss Texas A&M team that went on to beat North Carolina for a Notre Dame team that was dominated by both Clemson and Alabama in the postseason.

Suggested expansions for the playoff to six or eight teams have been suggested, however there are currently no plans for the committee to make this expansion.

Tide 100.9 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Power Through 2020 with These 8 Nick Saban Quotes



More From Tide 100.9