I finished the regular season with a record of 42-8 on my SEC picks. I batted .840. I didn't bat that high in slow pitch softball over a 40-year career, but I digress.

Now it's on to bowl season and games that are harder to predict.

Here we go:

Get our free mobile app

 

SEC-AFFILIATED BOWLS

TaxAct Texas Bowl (Houston) - Texas A&M vs. Oklahoma State - Dec. 27 - 9 pm ET / 8 pm CT - ESPN

Jimbo's firing started the revolving exit door in College Station. That bodes well for the Cowboys. Guns Up! OSU wins 34-17.

TaxSlayer Gator Bowl (Jacksonville) - Kentucky vs. Clemson - Dec. 29 - 12 pm ET / 11 am CT - ESPN

This a battle between two teams that had subpar seasons. Shoot me, but I'm a Dabo guy. Clemson takes it 24-20.

TransPerfect Music City Bowl (Nashville) - Auburn vs. Maryland - Dec. 30 - 2 pm ET / 1 pm CT - ABC

I was set to pick Maryland in this game until Taulia T. bailed on Mike Locksley. That's good news for Mr. Freeze. Coach Osteen and the Tigers win now, 31-21.

Reliaquest Bowl (Tampa) - LSU vs. Wisconsin - Jan. 1 - Noon ET / 11 am CT - ESPN2

We'll see how Brian Kelly does with his backup QB. I still think he wins. LSU in a close one, 31-28.

Cheez-It Citrus Bowl (Orlando) - Tennessee vs. Iowa - Jan. 1 - 1 pm ET / Noon CT - ABC

Iowa is one of the worst offenses to ever play in a bowl game. EVER. Josh Heupel wins both the game and his Shoney's breakfast bar eating contest with Phil Fulmer. Vols win big, 34-7. Mickey Mouse laughs Iowa out of Orlando.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL PLAYOFF BOWLS

Goodyear Cotton Bowl (Arlington) - Missouri vs. Ohio State - Dec. 29 - 8 pm ET / 7 pm CT - ESPN

Ohio State had players bail left and right once the Buckeyes didn't make the Playoff. That bodes well for Mizzou. Tigers take it, 31-20.

Capital One Orange Bowl (Miami) - Georgia vs. Florida State - Dec. 30 - 4 pm ET / 3 pm CT - ESPN

This is the day FSU nation finds out why the 'Noles were left out by the Playoff Committee. Kirby can name the score, and so will: UGA wins 45-10.

Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl (Atlanta) - Ole Miss vs. Penn State - Dec. 30 - Noon ET / 11 am CT - ESPN

Photo courtesy of Getty Images
Photo courtesy of Getty Images
loading...

This is the kind of game Lane generally wins, and he will win this one, too. Ole Miss takes it 38-24.

And, the biggie:

Rose Bowl presented by Prudential (Pasadena) - Alabama vs. Michigan - Jan. 1 - 5 pm ET / 4 pm CT - ESPN

Let's face it. Nick Saban owns Jim Harbaugh. When the L.A. Chargers hire Harbaugh in a few weeks, their fans can thank Saban. Alabama moves on to the CFP title game as the Tide rolls, 38-20.

Nick Saban's Coaching Tree: Where Are They Now?

S

More From Tide 100.9