With less than one hundred days now until the Tokyo Olympics are scheduled to begin, the world-renown No. 1-ranked United States Women’s soccer team has received its drawl for the tournament. The USWNT will join No. 9 Australia, No. 22 New Zealand, and long-time rival No. 5 Sweden for “Group G.” The Swedish team has consistently been competitive, winning the silver medal in the 2016 Olympics.

No. 11 Japan, the host country, will join “Group E,” along with No. 6 Great Britain, No. 37 Chile, and No. 8 Canada, a team that has placed third in the last two Olympics. The former Olympic champions, Germany, has failed to qualify and will not make it to Tokyo.

Tide 100.9 logo
Get our free mobile app

While the Olympics begin on July 23, group play of the Women’s Tournament will begin two days earlier on July 21. The United States will start off hot with a matchup against Sweden in Tokyo at 5:30 p.m. local time - 3:30 a.m. Central Time. This 14-hour difference in time will likely lead to many American events being aired in the U.S.A. on tape delay.

Below is the full group-play schedule for the United States-

  • Wednesday, July 21 - 5:30 p.m. local time (3:30 a.m. Central time) vs. Sweden
  • Saturday, July 24 - 8:30 p.m. local time (6:30 a.m. Central time) vs. New Zealand
  • Tuesday, July 27 - 3:00 p.m. local time (1:00 a.m. Central time) vs. Australia

These matches will be televised on NBC’s family of channels, and will likely also be available on the Olympics app.

As the United States prepares for the Tokyo Olympics, it is worth noting that the U.S. Men’s National Team has failed to qualify. This is the third straight Olympics that the team has missed. Luckily for the team, they will automatically qualify in the 2028 Olympics, due to the event being held in-country around Los Angeles.

For more Olympics coverage, stay tuned to TIDE1009.com.

The 10 Greatest Athletes from Alabama

More From Tide 100.9