The Southeastern Conference has established itself as the premiere conference in the biggest, most powerful sport in college athletics. Winners of the seven straight BCS national championships, the SEC has taken home a total of 11 national championships in the past 25 years. When looking at the history of the conference, 25 years provides a time frame where the conference has been at its strongest from top to bottom. But which team established itself as the leader of the pack during that time?

The Mannings, Jay Barker, Danny Weuffel, Cadillac Williams, Darren McFadden, Cam Newton, David Greene, Glenn Dorsey, Mark Ingram, Tim Couch, Johnny Manziel, Eric Moulds, AJ Green, Jadeveon Clowney - these names all barely scratch the surface when listing some of the Southeastern Conference's best talent over the past 25 years.

As we make our way to the start of another season with an SEC team favored to win a title, we have decided to look back at the past 25 seasons and crown the best team from the best conference. The only twist is that each school can only have one entry into the bracket.

After scouring through every conference school's history, we found the best season it produced based on final record, schedule strength, and team accomplishments. We only allowed teams that actually competed in the SEC for the season selected, which limited Texas A&M and Missouri to 2012 only.

Over the next three weeks, we'll put the voting into your hands as we move through the bracket to crown the SEC's best team of the past 25 years.

Here's how the voting will break down:

First Round: August 6-8

Second Round: August 9-11

Quarterfinals: August 12-15

Semifinals: August 16-19

Finals: August 20-23

The winner will be crowned the afternoon of Friday, August 23. As you see above, we have revealed the entire bracket and seeding, but we will provide team breakdowns for each team as they come up for voting.

Our first round consists of only two matchups, including conference newcomer Missouri. Let the voting begin!

(12) 2007 Kentucky vs (13) 2012 Vanderbilt

2007 Kentucky - The Wildcats are usually not associated with football success, but in 2007 Rich Brooks found his share in Lexington. Momentum rolled at the start of the season with wins over 9th ranked Louisville and Arkansas, before tripping up against South Carolina.

However, the following week would go down as one of the most thrilling games in Wildcats Football history. Quarterback Andre Woodson went toe-to-toe with the heralded LSU Tiger defense in a 3 OT thriller, eventually holding on just long enough to secure the 43-37 over top ranked LSU for the biggest win in Commonwealth Stadium history. After that, the wheels started to fall off as Kentucky ended up on the wrong side of a 45-37 decision against #12 Florida and went 1-3 to finish out the rest of the regular season.

After beating Florida State in the Music City Bowl 35-28, things seemed to be on the upward swing, but the Wildcats have yet to see success of 2007’s 8-5 season since.

2012 Vanderbilt - Prior to James Franklin's arrival in Nashville, the Commodores had only managed one bowl game and one winning season in the previous 26 years. But in 2012, Vanderbilt had one of its finest seasons in school history. Despite losing four of its first six games, the team finished as one of the nation's hottest programs with seven straight wins. Two of those wins down the stretch were program milestones - 41-18 dismantling of Tennessee was the first home win over the Vols in 30 years and the 38-24 Music City Bowl win over NC State marked the school's first back-to-back bowl appearance ever.

The team ended the year with a 9-4 record and national rankings of #20 (Coaches Poll) and #23 (AP Poll). The nine wins were the most since 1915 and five conference wins were the highest total since 1935.



(11) 2003 Ole Miss vs (14) 2012 Missouri

2003 Ole Miss - This might have been the best Rebel squad since the John Vaught era in Oxford. Behind senior quarterback Eli Manning, the Rebels rolled to a 10-3 season that included wins over three ranked opponents - #24 Florida, #20 Arkansas, and #21 Oklahoma State in the Cotton Bowl. Ole Miss shutout in-state rival Mississippi State 31-0 in the Egg Bowl and ended the year ranked #13 in the AP Poll and #14 in the Coaches Poll.

Manning's final year at Ole Miss ended 3,600 yards passing with 29 TD and 10 INT. The SEC named him the offensive player of the year, while he also won the Maxwell Award for national player of the year.

2012 Missouri - To say the first season in the Southeastern Conference for Missouri did not go well may be an understatement. After lighting up the scoreboard against Southeastern Louisiana, the Tigers were humbled by the Georgia Bulldogs the following week 41-20. Two weeks later they were humbled again at South Carolina with another 21 point loss.

After a win to close out September against UCF, the wheels fell off on the Tigers season as they won just two of their last seven games to finish 5-7 with a 2-6 mark in conference. The only conference wins coming against Kentucky on October 27 and a four overtime, 51-48 victory over the Tennessee Volunteers in Knoxville on November 10.


More From Tide 100.9