Alabama football’s Ross Pierschbacher has been named to the 2018 Rimington Trophy Watch List announced this morning by the Rimington Trophy Committee.

Pierschbacher is among 58 total candidates from around the country named to the preseason list. Alabama’s Barrett Jones (2012) and Ryan Kelly (2015) are among the previous winners of the Rimington.

A staple on the offensive line for the last three seasons, Pierschbacher has made 42 career starts for the Crimson Tide. During his time at left guard, the redshirt senior has blocked for 28 100-yard rushing performances and helped the Alabama offensive line earn the Joe Moore Award in 2015 while being selected as a finalist for the award that goes to the nation’s top offensive line in each of the last two seasons.

The Rimington Trophy has been presented annually since 2000 to the most outstanding center in the NCAA’s Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). Since its inception, the trophy has raised over $3.6 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis. The award is named in honor of former Nebraska center Dave Rimington, who was a consensus first team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982.

The winner of this year’s Rimington Trophy will be selected prior to the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December and will be presented the trophy on the red carpet at the show, which will take place at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

More From Tide 100.9