Bryce Young was awarded the Manning Award on Wednesday night, presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl to the top quarterback in the nation. Young is the second straight Alabama quarterback to receive the honor, following Mac Jones. The Manning Award is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration bowl and playoff performances in its balloting.

“Congratulations to Bryce Young on being selected as the winner of the 18th annual Manning Award,” said Archie Manning. “It’s quite a challenge to replace an All-American quarterback on a national championship team; and Bryce answered that challenge with a tremendous season. Nearly 5,000 passing yards, almost 50 touchdowns, the SEC Offensive Player of the Year and the Heisman Trophy. Not to mention leading Alabama back to the national championship game. I’m not sure what he can do for an encore but we sure are excited to have him back in college football next year.

“On behalf of the entire Manning family, we would like to once again thank the Sugar Bowl Committee for its generous and ongoing support of the Manning Award. The Bowl’s role in making this award possible each year is greatly appreciated.”

The sophomore was exceptional in his first season as the Crimson Tide signal-caller. He set Alabama's single-season marks for passing yards (4,872) and passing touchdowns (47) en route to becoming the school’s fourth Heisman Trophy winner and first at his position.

Young was also named college football’s Player of the Year by the Associated Press and The Sporting News. He collected the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien Awards, SEC Offensive Player of the Year and earned First Team All-American honors by the Associated Press, the Football Writers Association of America and The Sporting News.

Get our free mobile app

The California native completely rewrote the Alabama record book. In the season opener against Miami, Young set the school record for most passing yards and touchdowns in a starting debut. He became the first Alabama quarterback to throw for five touchdown passes in a single half and set the school record for most passing yards in a single game (561), a record which had previously stood for 52 years. In the SEC Championship Game, Young set records for total yards and passing yards against a Georgia team with the No. 1 rated defense in the country.

Young can become the second quarterback ever to win the Manning Award in consecutive seasons in 2022.

Alabama Crimson Tide All-Time Passing Leaders

The 2021 season is in the books and after Bryce Young's Heisman campaign, the all-time passing leaderboard requires an update.

More From Tide 100.9