When asked by a reporter who should win player of the year, Justin Thomas had a simple answer. “Me.”

On Tuesday, Justin Thomas was announced as the PGA of America Player of the year. This is the second time that Thomas has won the award (First won in 2017).

Finishing second in the points race was John Rahm, while Dustin Johnson finished a surprising fifth after going T2 at the PGA Championship and winning two of the last three events of the season.

There are two separate awards as this first one is tallied up using a system that includes points for wins, money list position, and scoring average. The second award will be voted on by other PGA Tour players.

The interesting part of this will be whether or not Thomas will win both awards this season for player of the year. Last year was the first time that two different golfers were named players of the year. Brooks Koepka took home the same award as Thomas, but Rory McIlroy won the second award for player of the year from the player's vote.

With the COVID-19 pandemic affecting the TOUR schedule, there was only one major championship -- the PGA Championship -- played within the regular-season points system.

If Thomas wins both awards he will join other multiple-time winners which include, Brooks Koepka (2), Rory McIlroy (2), Nick Price (2), Billy Casper (2), Julius Boros (2), Ben Hogan (4), Jack Nicklaus (5), Tom Watson (6) and Tiger Woods (11).

Tide 100.9 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Power Through 2020 with These 8 Nick Saban Quotes




More From Tide 100.9