Alabama quarterback Jalen Hurts has been named to the 2018 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List announced today by the Davey O’Brien Foundation.

A semifinalist for the award in 2016, Hurts is among 26 players from around the country named to this year’s preseason list. Alabama has never won the O’Brien.

Hurts has compiled a 26-2 record in two seasons as the starting quarterback for the Crimson Tide. The Houston, Texas, native already holds the Alabama career record for rushing touchdowns by a quarterback with 21 and is second in UA career touchdown responsibility with 61 passing and rushing scores. He ranks No. 4 at Alabama with 40 career touchdown passes.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The 2018 winner will be announced at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December.

More From Tide 100.9