Saban is one of five finalists for the coach of the year award


Alabama head football coach Nick Saban was chosen as a finalist for the George Munger Coach of the Year Award, the Maxwell Football Club announced Wednesday.

Get our free mobile app

Saban is joined on that list by David Braun (Northwestern), Kalen DeBoer (Washington), Mike Norvell (Florida State) and Steve Sarkisian (Texas), They make up the five finalists for the George Munger Coach of the Year Award, which recognizes the top coach in college football each year. The 2023 winner will be announced Wednesday, Jan. 10.

Alabama has had two winners of the George Munger Award: Gene Stallings in 1992, then Saban in 2016.

Here are some reasons the committee is considering Saban:

  • Led the Crimson Tide to a 12-2 record, including a perfect 8-0 mark in Southeastern Conference play
  • Advanced Alabama to the College Football Playoff for the eighth time in 10 seasons, the most of any one program in CFP history
  • Guided the Tide to its 30th SEC title with a win over then-No. 1/1/1 Georgia, snapping the Bulldogs’ NCAA-record long 29-game winning streak
  • Helped Alabama reach the 12-win mark for the 12th time in the last 16 season
  • Alabama Athletes With NIL Deals

    The biggest evolution in college athletics history is here. Check out which current Alabama athletes hold NIL deals in this ever-expanding and changing photo gallery.

    Gallery Credit: Jacob Harrison

    More From Tide 100.9