The United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) selected Alabama freshman guard Collin Sexton as one of 32 players for its 2017-18 Oscar Robertson Trophy Preseason Watch List on Monday.

The award will be presented to the national player of the year by its namesake at the NCAA Final Four in San Antonio.

Sexton joins eight freshmen and six Southeastern Conference student-athletes that were recognized by the USBWA.

Sexton earns his second preseason accolade, as he was one of six freshmen and the only honoree from the SEC named to the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award Watch List last month. His nod from the national organization is the first for an Alabama guard since Trevor Releford was selected prior to the 2013-14 season.

The Mabelton, Ga., native was a consensus top-10 player in the country coming out of Pebblebrook High School and was rated as high as the No. 4 overall player in the nation according to After an impressive prep career, Sexton earned multiple honors including being selected as a 2017 High School Second Team All-American by the Naismith Hall of Fame. In addition, Sexton was tabbed as a McDonald’s All-American and won the McDonald’s Jam Fest Dunk Contest, joining previous winners Carmelo Anthony, LeBron James and Blake Griffin, among others.

Furthermore, Sexton received international honors when he was named the MVP of the 2016 FIBA U17 World Championships in Spain, where he led the team in both scoring and assists to help USA Basketball seize the gold medal.

More From Tide 100.9