The College Football Hall of Fame announced its 2021 nominees today and two former Crimson Tide greats were announced on the ballot. The Hall of Fame announced 78 former players who are up for the 2021 class. Former defensive back Antonio Langham and former offensive lineman Chris Samuels made the upcoming ballot.

Langham is the Crimson Tide's career leader in interceptions with 19. He won the Jim Thorpe and the Jack Tatum award as the nation's top defensive back in 1993 and was a unanimous All-American. Langham made All-SEC teams in three consecutive years.

He is best known for returning a Shane Matthews interception for a touchdown in the 1992 SEC Championship to break the tie and send Alabama to the national championship.

Langham was a key part of the 1992 national championship team, the Crimson Tide's first championship team since 1979. The defensive back was drafted ninth overall in the 1994 NFL Draft.

Samuels was a consensus All-American in 1999 and won the Outland Trophy as country's top interior offensive lineman. Samuels started 42 consecutive games for the Crimson Tide since midway through his freshman year until he left for the NFL. Samuels was two time First Team All-SEC and won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy as the conference's top blocker.

In 1999 Samuels led the Tide to an SEC title, he did not allow a quarterback pressure the entire season and blocked for Shaun Alexander who rushed for 1,383 yards. Samuels was the third overall pick in the 2000 NFL Draft.

The Tide 23 representatives in the College Football Hall of Fame currently, the most recent inductee was linebacker Derrick Thomas in 2014.

Tide 100.9 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Alabama Football Players in the Hall-of-Fame


More From Tide 100.9