Alabama sophomore quarterback Jalen Hurts has been named a finalist for the 2017 Manning Award, the Allstate Sugar Bowl announced Thursday.

Hurts is among 11 quarterbacks from around the country named to the finalist list. The Manning Award has been presented annually since 2004 to the nation’s top college quarterback and is the only quarterback award that includes each candidate’s postseason bowl performance into consideration in its balloting.

The Houston, Texas, native already ranks among the top quarterbacks in Alabama history just 27 games into his career with the Tide. Hurts is the school record-holder in quarterback rushing touchdowns (21) and ranks No. 2 in quarterback career rushing (1,722 yards) and career touchdown responsibility (59). Additionally, he is third in career total offense (6,442 yards), fifth in career touchdown passes (38) and eighth overall in passing yards (4,720) at Alabama. This season, Hurts has completed 135 of 223 passes for 1,940 yards and 15 touchdowns with just one interception. He is also the Tide’s second-leading rusher with 768 yards and eight touchdowns on 137 carries.

Joining Hurts on the finalist list are: J.T. Barrett (Ohio State), Kelly Bryant (Clemson), Sam Darnold (USC), Lamar Jackson (Louisville), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma), Trace McSorley (Penn State), McKenzie Milton (UCF), Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State), Jarrett Stidham (Auburn), Khalil Tate (Arizona).

More From Tide 100.9