Alabama sophomore quarterback Jalen Hurts has been named to the 2017 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List announced today by the Davey O’Brien Foundation.

The Crimson Tide signal-caller is one of 30 players from around the country named to the preseason list and one of an FBS-best six Southeastern Conference quarterbacks selected. Hurts was a semifinalist for the award as a freshman in 2016.

Hurts became the first freshman to start at quarterback under Nick Saban when he took control of the Crimson Tide offense in the second game of the 2016 season and finished 13-1 as the Tide’s starter. He was selected as a Freshman All-American by USA Today and ESPN and earned SEC Offensive Player of the Year accolades from the conference coaches and the Associated Press. The Houston, Texas, native also garnered SEC Freshman of the Year (coaches) and SEC Newcomer of the Year (Associated Press) accolades. Hurts threw for 2,780 yards and 23 touchdowns and completed 62.8 percent of his passes with a 139.1 quarterback rating. He also set school records for touchdown responsibility (36) and quarterback rushing yards (954).

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The 2017 winner will be announced at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December.