Mississippi State begins a best-of-three championship series against UCLA in the College Wold Series with a chance to win the school's first national championship and add to the SEC's recent dominating run.

The Southeastern Conference has been competitive for decades, but only recently has it seen the championships pile up in the big three sports - football, basketball, and baseball. Since 2006, the conference has won 13 of a possible 22 national championships (59%).

Here's how the championships break down by sport.

Football - 7 (Florida in 2006 & 2008, LSU in 2007, Alabama in 2009, 2011, & 2012, Auburn in 2010)

Basketball - 3 (Florida in 2006 & 2007, Kentucky in 2012)

Baseball - 3 (LSU in 2009, South Carolina in 2010 & 2011)

Should Mississippi State complete its run through the CWS, the conference would have a staggering 14th national championship in eight years and the Bulldogs would be the seventh different team to claim a title.

If the boys from Starkville can pull it off, you better believe the cowbells will be ringing.

More From Tide 100.9