Today, per a press release, the College Football Playoff Board of Managers unanimously decided to set the criteria for the new 12-team playoff to consist of the five highest-ranked conference champions, followed by the next seven highest-ranked teams. The CFP selection committee will still determine these rankings.

Tide 100.9 logo
Get our free mobile app

This change amends the original format, in which the field would've consisted of the six highest-ranked conference winners followed by the subsequent six highest-ranked teams.

"This is a very logical adjustment for the College Football Playoff based on the evolution of our conference structures since the board first adopted this new format in September 2022," said the Chair of the CFP Board of Managers and President of Mississippi State University president, Dr. Mark Keenum in the press release. "I know this change will also be well received by student-athletes, coaches, and fans. We all will be pleased to see this new format come to life on the field this postseason."

The new 12-team format, set to begin this season, has the top four conference champions earning a buy in the first round. The 5-12 seeds will play their first-round matchup at the higher seeds home stadium.

No conference will have an automatic qualifier.

The No. 5 seed will play the No. 12, the No. 6 against the No. 11, the No. 7 versus the No. 10, and the No. 8 playing the No. 9.

The remaining quarterfinal and semifinal games will be played at New Year Six bowl sites, with the championship being held at a neutral site.

For more Alabama Football content from Simon Besnoy, follow him on X/Twitter at @SimonBesnoy and stay tuned to for daily news.

2023 Iron Bowl

The 2023 Iron Bowl was one for the books, finishing with 4th and 31.

2023 SEC Championship Alabama vs. Georgia

Alabama defeated Georgia in dramatic fashion in the 2023 SEC Championship.

Gallery Credit: Crimson Tide Photos/ UA Athletics

More From Tide 100.9