In an announcement by the College Football Hall of Fame Wednesday, it was announced that two former Alabama players have been put on the 2022 ballot. Crimson Tide player-turned-coach Sylvester Croom and legendary running back Shaun Alexander represent ‘Bama.

Photo Courtesy of Encyclopedia of Alabama
Photo Courtesy of Encyclopedia of Alabama

From 1972-74, Croom, a native of Tuscaloosa, played under Coach Paul “Bear” Bryant. Croom, a center, assisted the Crimson Tide to an overall record of 32-4 and an SEC record of 21-1. Croom was also a part of the 1973 national championship team.

After leaving Alabama, Croom spent a year with the New Orleans Saints before he decided to coach. From 1976-86, Croom was an assistant coach with the Crimson Tide.

From 2004-08, Croom gained national prominence as the head coach of Mississippi State. There he was named the SEC Coach of the Year in 2007.

Tide 100.9 logo
Get our free mobile app

Shaun Alexander, a native of Kentucky, became Alabama’s next great running back in the 1990s. After being redshirted in 1995, Alexander went off in his redshirt-freshman season. He rushed for a school record 291 yards and four touchdowns in a blowout victory over LSU.

Shaun Alexander #37
Getty Images

Alexander finished his collegiate career with 3,433 rushing yards, 40 touchdowns, and an average of 4.9 yards per carry. As for receiving accolades, Alexander snagged eight touchdowns and 792 yards.

As a member of the Crimson Tide, Alexander broke many school records and won an SEC title in 1999.

Alexander’s career exploded during his time in the NFL. He spent the majority of his career with the Seattle Seahawks, where he gained numerous accolades including the 2005 NFL MVP, three Pro Bowl appearances and many other awards.

Both former players are members of the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame. If selected to the College Football Hall of Fame, the Crimson Tide will have 26 total members.

Other notable ballot members for the 2022 class include:

  • Morton Anderson, K, Michigan State
  • Champ Bailey. DB, Georgia
  • Eric Baily, DB, Tennessee
  • Reggie Bush, RB, USC
  • Tim Couch, QB, Kentucky
  • Michael Crabtree, WR, Texas Tech
  • Ken Dorsey, QB, Miami (FL)
  • Tony Gonzalez, TE, Cal
  • Josh Heupel, QB, Oklahoma
  • Marvin Jones, LB, Florida St.
  • Marshawn Lynch, RB, Cal
  • Kellen Moore, QB, Boise St.

For a full list of the ballot for the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame, go to their website.

The 10 Greatest Athletes from Alabama

More From Tide 100.9